Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

Dr. Guido Link
Head of Material process technology with microwaves
Institute for Pulsed Power and Microwave Technology (IHM)

Phone: +49 721 608-22275

Fax: +49 721 608-26595

guido linkIvb4∂kit edu

Material process technology with microwaves

Nowadays the use of microwaves for heating is familiar to anyone due to the domestic microwaves operating at 2.45 GHz. It is advantageous that the heat is generated inside the material volume, so the heating is quick, direct, and energy efficient. In particular, materials characterized by low thermal conductivity such as plastics, glass, ceramics and powders can be heated much faster. In the technical material process technology these advantages are opposed by problems also known from domestic microwaves: Heat distribution may be inhomogeneous, and the microwave penetration of some materials is insufficient, while others are more transparent to microwaves and hardly can be heated.

   

At the IHM solutions to such problems were investigated for both the industrial microwave frequency 2.45 GHz and in the millimeter wave range. This includes the determination of process parameters and product quality in comparison to conventional heating. Thus, microwave heating proves to be faster, more energy efficient and sometime allows for a reduction of the process temperature. Hence, in many cases the properties of the microwave processed materials can be improved, as it was shown, for example, for carbon fiber reinforced plastics (CFRP) and various ceramics.
 

HEPHAISTOS Experimental Center (HEC)

 

Our goal is the development of novel energy-efficient industrial microwave processes.

The modular microwave product line HEPHAISTOS represents a radical innovation in the field of heating and process systems for material treatment. These chamber systems provide an excellent homogeneous field distribution. The generation of uniform and homogeneous fields at 2.45 GHz over a wide area has been a key problem of industrial microwave technology. For many industrial applications and processes this is an essential prerequisite. There are several HEPHAISTOS microwave systems (walkable up to 7500l in volume) available for industrial process development. By use of this new energy-efficient and fast production processes can be developed for tailor-made industrial applications. This technology is licensed to our partner Vötsch Industrietechnik, Reiskirchen. 

       

Field of microwave systems and processes

Using common software tools such as CST Microwave Studio and COMSOL Multiphysics new microwave applicators are optimized for product specific processes. Based on this, new microwave systems are designed, built, and tested. For large-scale industrial applications inside large applicators which are difficult to simulate with commercial simulation tools new software concepts are developed. Unlike thermal ovens where the control response is substantially determined by the thermal mass of the furnace walls, in the case of microwave heating, the control behavior is determined only by the product itself. This places Special demands on flexibility of control concepts used in microwave Systems. With innovative, self-learning and model-predictive control algorithms one can minimize costly series of experiments for process optimization. Based on LabWindows CVI and LabView, process-specific Software tools for process control and Monitoring with appropriate data acquisition and storage are developed.   

contact

Field of materials characterization

The basis for for process and system developments is a fundamental understanding of the dielectric properties of the materials involved. For appropriate characterization different measurement methods are used and continuously developed and expanded with new measurement methods. Currently, various test stands are available:  
  • Coaxial probe for measurements of lossy materials
    (0.5 to 20 GHz frequency range, temperature range up to 150°C)
  • Transmission / reflection measurement method inside WR340 waveguide
    (2.45 GHz, temperature range up to 200°C)
  • Resonator method for low-loss materials
    (2.45 GHz, temperature range up to 1200°C)

    Current Research and development topics

    There exists extensive experience in the following fields of high-temperature process:
    • Keramik:  
      • Sintern
      • Entbindern
      • Calcination 
    • Glass:      
      • Heat Treatment 
      • Recrystallization 
      • Glass soldering 
      • Glass melting 
      • Melting of quartz sand
    • Phyllosilicates:
      • Dehydroxylation
      • Intercalation
      • Reduction of layer charges
    • Metals:        
      • Sintering 
      • Melting 
      • Smelting
    • Glass and carbon fiber reinforced plastics 

    Besides the optimization of the process parameters, the challenge is to work out the microwave specific advantages compared to conventional processes. Thus, the investigations are generally accompanied by a corresponding material characterization and microstructure analysis.
    Besides all these materials science applications, it is always a new challenge to investigate the potential of this innovative technology in terms of productivity and quality in industrial processes in collaboration with industry.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

Ansprechpartner
Dr. Guido Link

Tel.: +49 721 608-22275

Fax: +49 721 608-26595

guido linkKlc8∂kit edu

Materialprozesstechnik mit Mikrowellen

 

Die Anwendung von Mikrowellen zur Erwärmung ist heute jedermann vertraut durch die Haushaltsmikrowelle bei 2.45 GHz. Vorteilhaft ist, dass hierbei die Wärme im Materialvolumen entsteht, so dass der Heizvorgang schnell, gezielt und energiesparend abläuft. Insbesondere Materialien mit geringer Wärmeleitfähigkeit wie Kunststoffe, Gläser, Pulver und Keramik lassen sich hiermit wesentlich schneller erwärmen. In der technischen Materialprozesstechnik stehen diesen Vorteilen Probleme gegenüber, die man teilweise ebenfalls von der Haushaltsmikrowelle kennt: Die Wärmeverteilung ist möglicherweise inhomogen, und die Mikrowellen dringen in manche Materialen nur ungenügend ein, während andere für Mikrowellen eher durchlässig sind und daher wenig erwärmt werden.

   

 

Am IHM wird die Lösung solcher Probleme sowohl bei der industriellen Mikrowellen-Frequenz 2.45 GHz als auch im Millimeterwellenbereich untersucht. Dies schließt die Bestimmung von Prozessparametern und Produktqualität im Vergleich zu konventioneller Heiztechnik ein. So erweist sich eine Mikrowellenheizung nicht nur als schneller und energiesparender, sie erlaubt teilweise auch eine Reduktion der Prozesstemperaturen. Vielfach können auch die Eigenschaften der so hergestellten Materialien verbessert werden, wie es z. B. für Kohlefaser verstärkte Kunststoffe (CFK) und verschiedene Keramiken gezeigt werden konnte.

HEPHAISTOS-Versuchszentrum (HEC)

 

Unser Ziel ist die Entwicklung neuartiger industrieller energieeffizienter Mikrowellen-Prozesse.

Die modulare Mikrowellensystemlinie HEPHAISTOS stellt eine radikale Innovation im Bereich von Erwärmungs- und Prozesssystemen für die Materialverarbeitung dar. In diesen Kammersystemen entstehen exzellente homogene Feldverteilungen. Die Erzeugung sehr gleichmäßiger und großräumiger homogener Felder bei 2.45 GHz war bislang ein Kernproblem der industriellen Mikrowellentechnik. Dies ist aber für viele industrielle Anwendungen und Prozesse eine unverzichtbare Voraussetzung. Es sind verschiedene HEPHAISTOS-Mikrowellensysteme (begehbare bis 7500l Volumen) für industrielle Prozessentwicklungen verfügbar. Durch diese können neue energieeffiziente, schnelle Produktionsprozesse erprobt und für die industrielle Anwendung als Dienstleistung maßgeschneidert realisiert werden. Die Systemtechnik ist lizenziert an unseren Partner Vötsch Industrietechnik , Reiskirchen.

Kontakt

Bereich Mikrowellensysteme und Prozesse

Mit Hilfe gängiger Softwaretools, wie CST Microwave Studio und COMSOL Multiphysics werden neue Mikrowellen Applikatoren auf die produktspezifischen Prozesse hin optimiert. Auf Grundlage dessen werden neue Mikrowellensysteme konstruiert, aufgebaut und getestet. Für großtechnische Anwendungen in großen Applikatoren, die sich mit den kommerziellen Simulationstools nur schwer Simulieren lassen werden neue Softwarekonzepte entwickelt. Im Gegensatz zu thermischen Öfen, deren Regelverhalten im Wesentlichen durch die thermische Masse der Ofenwände vorgegeben ist, ist im Fall der Mikrowellenheizung das Regelverhalten ausschließlich durch das Produkt selbst bestimmt. Dies stellt besondere Anforderungen an Flexibilität der verwendeten Regelkonzepte in Mikrowellenanlagen. Mit innovativen, selbstlernenden und modelprädiktiven Regelalgorithmen kann man aufwendige Versuchsserien zur Prozessoptimierung minimieren. Auf Grundlage von LabWindows CVI und LabView werden prozessspezifische Softwaretools zur Prozesssteuerung und Überwachung, mit entsprechender Messdatenerfassung und –Sicherung entwickelt.

Kontakt

Bereich Materialcharakterisierung

Grundlage für die Prozess- und Systementwicklung ist ein grundlegendes Verständnis der dielektrischen Eigenschaften eingesetzter Materialien. Für die entsprechende Charakterisierung werden unterschiedliche Messmethoden eingesetzt und kontinuierlich weiterentwickelt bzw. mit neuen Messmethoden erweitert. Aktuell stehen diverser Teststände zur Verfügung:

  • Koaxialmesssonde für Messungen von verlustreichen Materialien
    (Frequenzbereich 0,5 bis 20 GHz, Temperaturbereich bis 150°C)
  • Transmissions / Reflexionsmessung im WR340
    (2,45 GHz, Temperaturbereich bis 200°C)
  • Resonator Methode für verlustarme Materialien
    (2,45 GHz, Temperaturbereich bis 1200 °C)

Kontakt

Aktuelle Forschungs- und Entwicklungsthemen

  Es existieren umfangreiche Erfahrungen auf folgenden Gebieten der Hochtemperaturprozesstechnik:
  • Keramik:  
    • Sintern
    • Entbindern
    • Kalzination
  • Glas:      
    • Wärmebehandlung
    • Rekristallisation
    • Glaslöten
    • Glasschmelzen
    • Schmelzen von Quarzsanden
  • Schichtsilikate:
    • Dehydroxylation
    • Interkalation
    • Reduktion von Schichtladungen
  • Metalle:        
    • Sintern
    • Schmelzen
    • Verhüttung
  • Glas- und Kohlefaser verstärkte Kunststoffe

Neben der Optimierung der Prozessparameter liegt die Herausforderung darin, die Mikrowellen spezifischen Vorteile gegenüber konventionellen Prozessen herauszuarbeiten. So werden die Untersuchungen im Allgemeinen durch eine entsprechende Materialcharakterisierung und Mikrostrukturanalyse begleitet.
Neben all diesen materialwissenschaftlichen Untersuchungen ist es immer eine neue Herausforderung, zusammen mit der Industrie das Potential dieser innovativen Technologie hinsichtlich einer Produktivitäts- und Qualitätssteigerung in industriellen Prozessen zu untersuchen.

 

 Kontakt