Home | deutsch | Legals | Sitemap | KIT

Institute for Pulsed Power and Microwave Technology

Campus Nord, Bau 421

Hermann-von- Helmholtz-Platz 1

D-76344 Eggenstein-Leopoldshafen
Tel.: +49 721-608-2-2441
E-Mail: Martina HuberZsm4∂kit edu

The Institute for Pulsed Power and Microwave Technology at a Glance

The Institute for Pulsed Power and Microwave Technology (IHM) is doing research and development as well as education and technology transfer in the areas of pulsed power and high-power microwave technologies.

We are focusing on:


  • Fundamental research
    • electron beam physics and beam target interactions
    • fretting (wear resistance of materials) 
    • generation, transmission and conversion of high electromagnetic fields at millimeter wave frequencies
    • plasma-wall interaction


  • Application of the results
    • to generate pulsed electron beams with large diameters and sufficient beam energies
    • to improve the wear resistance and the liquid metal corrosion of steels
    • to electroporate biomasses and to stimulate biological cells to supply Megawatt power levels for electron-cyclotron resonance heating and control
    • to apply high-power microwaves to materials by developing large-scale microwave ovens and specific microwave tools
    • to predict the impact of transients on the erosion and lifetime of wall materials of future fusion reactors


16th Seminar "Computer Modeling in Microwave Power Engineering"

May 12-13, 2014

KIT / IHM, Karlsruhe, Germany