Institute for Pulsed Power and Microwave Technology

Surface modification of materials using pulsed electron beams

GESA (Gepulste ElektronenStrahl Anlage) process and facilities

 

Using intensive pulsed electron beams, energy can be deposited into surface layers of materials very efficiently and fast. Material surfaces are melted with a single pulse to a depth of up to 100 µm depending on the specific energy input (5-60 J/cm²). After termination of the pulse (some 10 µs) the melt layer cools by heat conduction with cooling rates of 106-109 K/s. Thereby, micro-crystalline, nano-crystalline or even amorphous structures in the modified surface layer are formed that show improved hardness, corrosion resistance and wear resistance. Currently, the most important application is surface alloying of metals with different materials. The alloying of aluminum into steel surfaces for improved corrosion resistance is in the focus of the application related work.

 

Pulsed electron beams with large diameter and sufficient beam energy can be created using high voltage generators and vacuum diodes. As electron source a multipoint explosive emission cathode consisting of several carbon fibre bundles is used. Besides the very rapid quasi adiabatic melting of surfaces and the correlated high cooling rates, the major difference compared to other alternative processes such as e.g. Laser is the possible large treatment areas (some 100 cm²). The facilities GESA I, GESA II and GESA IV, which were built in close cooperation with the Efremov institute in St. Petersburg, deliver electron beam pulses with some tens of microseconds pulse duration and electron energies between 50 and 400 keV.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Working areas:


 

Material development for liquid metal systems


Liquid metal corrosion of steels is a proceeding dissolution of alloying elements of the applied steels by the liquid metal. A protective oxide scale can develop on a steel surface, if the oxygen concentration in the liquid metal is sufficiently high. Strong oxide formers like aluminum allow the formation of thin, slowly growing and stable oxide scales that protect the steel from dissolution attack and do not hinder the heat removal.

Surface alloying: 


The properties of metal surfaces can be tailored by turbulent mixing of coatings with substrate materials using the GESA process. One example is the alloying of a strong oxide former like aluminum into steel surfaces.

Corrosion tests:

 

 

The 8 COSTA (COrrosion in STAgnant lead alloys) test stands allow the exposure of more than 100 specimens at different temperatures (from 300 °C to 900 °C) and oxygen activities (from reducing to saturation conditions) simultaneously. Exposures up to 10,000 h controlled conditions have been realized so far. COSTA test-stands were also delivered to external research organizations (e.g. KTH - Stockholm).

The CORELLA (CORrosion Erosion in Liquid Lead Alloys) facility is used to expose specimens to rotating liquid metal for the investigation of combined erosion / corrosion stability of materials.

The FRETHME (FRETing corrosion in Heavy liquid Metals) facility is employed for fretting tests (wear at small sliding amplitudes) in liquid lead alloys. Three samples can be simultaneously tested at fixed amplitude with different loads. All relevant parameters such as liquid metal conditions (temperature and oxygen content), load, motion amplitude and friction force are recorded. .

Liquid metal technology: 

 

Setting-up and control of the oxygen content is one of the important issues for experiments and investigations in liquid metals. For this purpose a gas phase oxygen control system (OCS) was developed and used for all test facilities in our institute and at several other test facilities of internal and external partner associations.

Experimental equipment for post investigations:

 

Metallographic equipment for sample preparation; diverse light optical microscopes; 2 SEM (Scanning electron microscopes) equipped with EDX (energy dispersive x-ray analysis) for elemental characterization;

XRD (x-ray diffraction); Thermal balance combined with DTA (differential thermal analysis); Hardness tester; small scale specimen tensile and bending stage for SEM use; white light profilometer for topography; mass spectrometer; Furnaces for heat treatment and sintering experiments.

High temperature applications:

 

In this area, surface modification by re-melting and alloying of different elements using pulsed electron beams aims to improve the properties of turbine plates; e.g. an improved adherence of thermal barrier coatings will lead to an increase in life-time.

 

Wear resistance

Surface hardening by modifying the micro-structure using the GESA process improves the wear resistance of materials and machine parts such as gear wheels and tappets. Surface alloying or GESA re-melting of carburized surfaces are additional options to increase the hardness and the wear resistance. 

Electron beam physics and beam-target interaction

High-speed cameras in streak and framing mode allow the in-situ observation of the surface melting process. Applying ultra short time spectroscopy, the state and properties of evaporated material close to the surface can be investigated. The results of in-situ analyses are combined together with simulations to understand and describe the physical processes during re-melting and cooling.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

Oberflächenmodifikation von Materialien mit gepulsten Elektronenstrahlen

GESA (Gepulste ElektronenStrahlAnlage) Prozess und Anlagen

 

Mit intensiven gepulsten Elektronenstrahlen kann Energie sehr effizient und schnell in oberflächennahe Schichten von Materialien eingebracht werden. Abhängig vom spezifischen Energieeintrag (5-60 J/cm²) lassen sich Materialoberflächen bis zu 100 µm tief mit einem einzigen Impuls aufschmelzen. Nach Ende des Pulses (einige 10 µs) kühlt die Schmelzschicht durch Wärmeleitung mit Temperaturänderungsraten von 106-109 K/s ab. Dadurch können amorphe oder nanokristalline Strukturen in der Oberflächenschicht mit verbesserter Härte, Korrosionsbeständigkeit und Abriebfestigkeit entstehen. Die derzeit wichtigste Anwendung ist das Oberflächenlegieren von Metallen mit unterschiedlichen Materialien. Im Fokus der anwendungsorientierten Arbeiten steht das Einlegieren von Aluminium in die Oberflächenschicht von Stählen.

 

Gepulste Elektronenstrahlen mit großem Durchmesser und ausreichender Strahlenergie lassen sich mit Hochspannungsimpulsgeneratoren und Vakuumdioden herstellen. Als Elektronenquelle dient eine aus vielen Kohlenstofffaserbündeln bestehende „multipoint explosive emission“ Kathode. Neben der impulsartigen Aufschmelzung der Oberfläche und den damit verbundenen hohen Kühlraten besteht der Hauptunterschied der Methode gegenüber alternativen Verfahren wie z.B. Laser darin, dass die Behandlung großflächig (mehrere 100 cm²) erfolgen kann. Die in enger Kooperation mit dem Efremov-Institut, St. Petersburg, gebauten Anlagen GESA I, GESA II und GESA IV erzeugen Elektronenstrahlimpulse von einigen 10 µs Dauer und Teilchenenergien zwischen 50 und 400 keV.

Arbeitsgebiete

GESA
GESA
GESA
GESA
GESA

 

Materialentwicklung für Flüssigmetallsysteme


Flüssigmetallkorrosion besteht in einer stetig voranschreitenden Auflösung von Legierungskomponenten des verwendeten Stahls durch das Flüssigmetall. Eine schützende Oxidschicht kann sich auf der Stahloberfläche bilden, wenn die Sauerstoffkonzentration z.B. in flüssigen Bleilegierungen bei Werten um 10-6 gew.% eingestellt wird. Starke Oxidbildner wie Aluminium in der Stahloberfläche ermöglichen die Ausbildung dünner, langsam wachsender, stabiler Oxidschichten, die zum einen die Korrosion verhindern und zudem die Wärmeabfuhr nicht behindern.

 


Legierungsbildung:


Durch turbulentes Mischen einer Beschichtung mit dem Substratmaterial können Oberflächen von Metallen gezielt in ihren Eigenschaften verändert werden. Ein Beispiel ist das Einlegieren von starken Oxidbildnern wie Aluminium  in die Oberfläche von Stählen.


 

Korrosionsuntersuchungen:


Die 8 COSTA (COrrosion in STAgnant lead alloys) Anlagen erlauben die gleichzeitige Auslagerung von mehr als 100 Proben bei verschiedenen Temperaturen (von 300 bis 900 °C) und Sauerstoffgehalten (von Sättigung bis hin zu reduzierenden Bedingungen) im Flüssigmetall. Einzelauslagerungen bis 10.000 h Dauer wurden bislang realisiert. COSTA Teststände wurden inklusive Sauerstoffkontrolle an externe Forschungseinrichtungen (z.B. KTH in Stockholm) geliefert.
Der CORELLA (CORrosion Erosion in Liquid Lead Alloys) Teststand ermöglicht durch den Kontakt mit rotierendem Flüssigmetall die Untersuchung der Erosions/Korrosionsstabilität von Materialien.
Die FRETHME (FRETing corrosion in Heavy liquid Metals) Anlage wird für Fretting Tests (Reibverschleiß mit kleinen Bewegungsamplituden) in flüssigen Bleilegierungen verwendet. Drei Proben können gleichzeitig bei gleicher Amplitude mit verschiedenen Lasten getestet werden. Alle relevanten Parameter wie Flüssigmetallbedingungen (Temperatur und Sauerstoffaktivität), Last, Bewegungsamplitude und Reibkraft werden aufgezeichnet.

 


Flüssigmetalltechnologie:


Die Einstellung und Kontrolle des Sauerstoffgehalts ist einer der wichtigsten Parameter bei allen Experimenten und Untersuchungen in flüssigen Metallen. Hierfür wurde ein Gasphasen Sauerstoffkontrollsystem OCS (Oxygen Control System) entwickelt, das bei allen Testständen im Institut und an Testeinrichtungen von internen und externen Partnereinrichtungen verwendet wird.

 


Experimentelle Ausstattung für Nachuntersuchungen:


Metallographie für Probenvorbereitung; verschiedene Lichtmikroskope; 2 REM (Rasterelektronenmikroskope) mit EDX (energiedispersive Röntgenanalyse); XRD (Röntgendiffraktometrie); Härtetester; Zug und Biegeversuch im REM; Weißlichtprofilometer  für Topographie; Massenspektrometer; Thermowaage mit DTA (Differentielle Thermoanalyse); verschiedene Öfen für Wärmebehandlung und Sinterversuche;

 

Verschleißschutz

Oberflächenhärtung mittels des GESA Prozesses führt durch Änderung der Mikrostruktur zu einer Verbesserung des Verschleißverhaltens von Werkstoffen und Maschinenteilen, wie z.B. Zahnräder und Motorenventilen. Oberflächenlegieren bzw. GESA Umschmelzung aufgekohlter Oberflächen sind weitere Möglichkeiten, die Härte und damit die Verschleißfestigkeit zu steigern.   


GESA

 

Elektronenstrahlphysik und Strahl-Target-Wechselwirkung

Hochgeschwindigkeitskameras im Streak und Framing Mode erlauben das in situ Beobachten des Oberflächenschmelzprozesses. Mittels Kurzeitspektroskopie können die Zustände des verdampften Materials an und in der Nähe der Oberfläche untersucht werden. Die Ergebnisse der in situ Analytik werden zusammen mit Simulationsrechnungen verwendet, um die physikalischen Prozesse während der Umschmelzung und des Abkühlens zu verstehen und zu beschreiben.