Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

Bioelectrics

 

Scientific focus in Bioelectrics is the interaction of pulsed electric fields (PEF) with biological cells, tissue and organisms. In general, for PEF exposure, the biological material is suspended in aqueous solution between two electrodes connected to a high voltage pulse generator. Depending on the pulse parameters, various effects and applications can be obtained: more...

Nanosecond time-resolved measurement of membrane charging

Membrane charging is a necessary condition for subsequent membrane permeabilization. The time constant of membrane charging is on the order of 100 ns. Thus, measurements on the dynamics of membrane charging demand for fast diagnostic tools like pulsed laser fluorescence microscopy (PLFM) exhibiting a temporal resolution of 5 ns. more...

Pulsed electric field treatment of microalgae

Microalgae are agreed to be a promising and sustainable future biomass feedstock. Economic recovery of intracellularly stored compounds is primary objective in current R&D efforts. The fractionating properties of pulsed electric field treatment open new perspectives for microalgae valorization. more...

Electrophysiological analysis of permeabilization processes

Commonly used electrode configurations in treatment chambers for PEF processing do not allow a direct measurement of the field-induced transmembrane voltage. This can be accomplished by applying the patch-clamp technique. more...

Plant stress responses due to ns pulse exposure

Electric field pulses with a short rise time and a duration in the sub-microsecond domain allow for penetration of the electric field inside the cell and for interaction with intracellular organelles. Among others, this can result in a growth stimulation of higher plants. more...

Treatment chambers for industrial-scale operation

Industrial applications of pulsed electric field treatment require for long-lifetime and failure-free operation of PEF treatment devices. Particular attention in scale-up developments at IHM is given to electrode effects encountered with single cell suspension treatment. more...

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

Bioelektrik

Unter Bioelektrik versteht man die Wechselwirkung gepulster elektrischer Felder mit biologischen Zellen, Geweben und Organismen. Das biologische Material befindet sich in wässriger Suspension zwischen zwei Elektroden, die von einem Impulsgenerator gespeist werden. Abhängig von den gewählten Impulsparametern treten unterschiedliche Wirkungen und Anwendungsmöglichkeiten auf: mehr...

Nanosekunden-zeitaufgelöste Messung der Membranaufladung

Die Aufladung der Plasmamembran ist eine notwendige Voraus­setzung zur Membranpermeabilisierung. Der Aufladevorgang dauert wenige 100 ns. Mittels gepulster Laser-Fluoreszenz-Mikroskopie wird die zeitliche Dynamik der Membranspannung im Nanosekundenbereich untersucht. Diese Messungen erlauben Rückschlüsse auf die Porenbildungsdynamik. mehr...

Elektroimpulsbehandlung von Mikroalgen

Mikroalgen gelten als vielversprechende nachhaltige Rohstoffquelle der Zukunft. Die wirtschaftliche Gewinnung der Inhaltsstoffe ist Gegenstand aktueller Forschungsarbeiten. Die fraktionierenden Eigenschaften der Elektroimpulsbehandlung eröffnen dabei neue Perspektiven zur Nutzung dieser zukünftigen Rohstoffquelle. mehr...

Elektrophysiologie der Membranpermeabilisierung

Bei der Elektroimpulsbehandlung von Zellen in klassischen Elek­trodenanordnungen, besteht keine Möglichkeit die induzierte Membranspannung direkt zu messen. Für Grundlagenunter­suchungen wird deshalb die Patch-Clamp Technik angewandt. mehr...

Pflanzliche Stressreaktionen nach Ultrakurzpulsbehandlung

Schnell ansteigende Feldimpulse mit einer Dauer im Nanosekundenbereich ermöglichen das Eindringen des elektrischen Feldes ins Zellinnere und führen zu Wechselwirkungen mit intrazellulären Organellen. Unter anderem kann es zu einer wachstumsstimulierenden Wirkung bei höheren Pflanzen kommen. mehr...

Oberflächeneffekte in Behandlungszellen

Für einen industriellen Einsatz der Elektroimpulsbehandlung ist die Langzeitstabilität des Anlagenbetriebs wichtig. Bei ungünstiger Wahl der Impulsparameter kann es zur Abscheidung von Zellmaterial auf der Elektrodenoberfläche kommen, die den Materialfluss behindert. mehr...

 

 

 

 

Ansprechpartner:

Gruppenleiter
Dr. Wolfgang Frey
Tel.: +49 721 608-22453
email: wolfgang.frey∂kit.edu

DiWaL

Entwicklung eines ressourceneffizienten Wassermanagement- und Anlagenkonzepts für Vorbehandlungs- und Tauchlackier-Anlagen unter Nutzung der Elektroimpulstechnologie zur Dekontamination von industriellen Wässern und Lacken.

mehr...